Howie’s Hot Five for…26 January, 2012

Ok , this week we were going to rant about Lana Del Ray – joke or genius …but suddenly she seems old hat so onward with…

5. At last, how to email and text sarcasm…

As we were always over all those twee 🙂  :-()  😉 etc  or simply inserting ‘joke!’ after that brilliant piece of sarcastic wit…

so now we have ‘Arial sarcastic’ font.

Mmm, what a great idea.

Welcome to Arial sarcasm font and also welcome you to the Official Site of the Sarcasm Font Movement

In brief:

  • Bold
  • Italic

4.  300 million Skype video calls every day, so?

Well according to the likes of NY Times Skype is now changing our family domestic rituals. e.g. for past two years a family has celebrated Hanukkah from three different cities via Skype. …just tip of iceberg at how families now rely on Skype video to stay in touch; and meeting new grandchildren, wives and seeing grand kids sing – along the way.

 

  • 300 million Skype video calls per day
  • 900% increase since 2007
  • Peak time; Sunday morning
  • And senior citizens starting to use it to chat over coffee with others in the same town
  • New gadget on market ‘telyHD’…small Skype camera unit that turns your and your grandmas TV into instant Skype HD TV

Source: NY Times

3. Gyms losing their GRIP as 21st Century religion?


What is it with Gym memberships?

Go to Trademe and you’ll see ‘Please! I need to sell my membership! Please somebody!’

In the UK punters are saying ‘sue me, so what’ and the courts are starting to side with them…

Question: what other service industry gets you to join for several years and then refused you to leave without severe penalty?

The UK Office of Fair Trading are about to kick butt…

All started with bad PR around a pregnant woman and her unemployed husband….about to made homeless and couldn’t afford the gym membership!  Outfit in UK called LA Fitness got such bad PR members writing in hundreds saying “cancelling my membership so sue me!”

Stop Press: gym memberships longer than 12 month are unfair….says UK courts

Stop Press 2: Commerce Commission in NZ suspects thousands are joined up to gym contracts that contravene Consumer Contracts and Consumer Finance Act

Sources: The Guardian  and Stuff

2. Five Top Deathbed Regrets…

A nurse in palliative care in India has had long career in nursing patients who on average have only three weeks to live.  So here are the number five most common regrets she hears:

  1. I wish I’d had the courage to live a life true to myself, not the life others expected of me
  2. I wish I didn’t work so hard (This came from every male patient she nursed!)
  3. I wish I’d had the courage to express my feelings
  4. I wish I had stayed in touch with my friends
  5. I with I’d let myself be happier (Many of us don’t realise happiness is a choice and we stay stuck in same patterns and habits)

Source: A Rise in India Forum

1. Imagine John Lennon Jumping…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

